
A denial letter that calls your damage pre-existing, long-term or wear and tear is making a claim about the history of your home: when the damage started and what caused it. It is a factual position, and the condition of a house on a given date usually leaves records.
If you're holding one of these letters, the amount at stake is often the entire claim. These positions tend to remove everything at once: the ceiling, the flooring, the cabinets, the cleanup, the time out of the house. How the position holds up depends on what the carrier can show about when the damage began and what caused it, and on what your own records show about the same questions.
This article walks through how these exclusions generally work, how proof is allocated in a California property claim, what happens when old wear and a new event overlap, and the dated documents owners commonly assemble in response. Coverage always depends on the specific policy language and the facts of the loss.
Most homeowners policies cover the dwelling against direct physical loss and then list what they exclude. That list generally includes language aimed at deterioration: wear and tear, marring, rust, corrosion, mold, latent defect, mechanical breakdown, and in many forms, water that seeped or leaked continuously over a period of time. The purpose of that language is generally to keep the ordinary aging of a building outside coverage while sudden losses stay inside it.
Read against your own letter, those terms show what the carrier is asserting. Each one is a statement about time: that a condition developed gradually, or existed before the loss you reported. A denial built on one of these terms is the carrier's conclusion about the history of your home, and it rests on whatever the adjuster inspected and recorded.
California's fair claims regulations require a carrier that denies a claim to do it in writing, list every basis it is relying on, and explain how the cited exclusion applies to this loss. That written-reasons duty is part of the California property insurance claim process. A wear and tear letter that quotes the exclusion without saying what the adjuster observed, or when the adjuster believes the damage began, leaves the factual basis of the denial unstated.
Carriers often use these terms together, but each points to a different part of the policy and calls for different proof.
"Pre-existing" is usually a timing argument. Property policies generally cover loss that occurs while the policy is in force, and a letter that says the damage pre-dated the policy, or pre-dated your purchase, is saying the loss falls outside that window. Depending on the policy and how the letter is written, the position can be framed as a question about the coverage period, though carriers also commonly place it under the deterioration exclusions. For damage that develops gradually, California generally looks to when the damage became appreciable or apparent, not when the underlying process began, a timing rule that also comes up when suing an insurance company in California. Under that rule, damage that started slowly before the policy but first became apparent during it is generally not treated as pre-existing for that reason alone, and a loss already known or apparent before coverage began is generally outside what a later policy insures.
"Long-term" is a duration argument, and it usually lands on the continuous seepage or leakage language. The carrier is saying water escaped slowly, over weeks or months, rather than in a single discharge. This comes up often with hidden plumbing, and with drain lines such as the corroded systems discussed in cast-iron pipe insurance claims, where the pipe's condition and the water damage it caused may be treated differently under the policy.
"Wear and tear" is a cause argument. It accepts that something happened during the policy period but says what happened was ordinary deterioration rather than a covered peril. Roof claims draw this position often, and whether homeowners insurance covers roof leaks generally depends on which cause the evidence supports.
The wording of your letter usually shows which argument is in play. A letter that names a date, a prior owner or a policy start date is making a timing argument. One that quotes the seepage language is making a duration argument. One that describes a component's age or condition is making a cause argument. Many letters combine two or all three.
California generally divides the proof in a coverage dispute. The California Supreme Court restated that division in Aydin Corp. v. First State Ins. Co. (1998) 18 Cal.4th 1183, a case about a liability policy: the insured bears the burden of establishing that the claim is within the basic scope of coverage, and once that showing is made, the insurer bears the burden of proving the claim is specifically excluded. California's official civil jury instructions draw on Aydin for the insurer's burden on an exclusion and state that the instruction can be used with first-party loss policies as well as liability policies.
What the policyholder's initial showing involves generally depends on the kind of coverage. Dwelling coverage on many homeowners policies is written on an open-peril basis, covering direct physical loss unless an exclusion applies. The Aydin court contrasted the liability policy before it with that kind of all-risk policy, and described earlier California authority holding that an insured under an all-risk policy does not have to prove that the peril causing the loss was covered. Named-peril coverage, which some policies use for personal property, generally works differently, because the loss has to fit one of the listed perils.
The same decision placed one burden on the policyholder. When an exclusion applies and the insured relies on an exception written into that exclusion, the insured generally bears the burden of proving the exception.
Where a "pre-existing" position fits in this framework is less settled. Who carries the burden on it can depend on whether the policy and the letter treat it as a question about the coverage period or as an exclusion, and that turns on the specific policy wording. Under either framing, the same records bear on the question: what the home looked like before the policy began, and when the damage first became apparent.
Consider a kitchen ceiling stained after a winter storm, under flashing that the purchase inspection described as aged. Both facts can be true at once, and a wear and tear letter typically addresses only the second.
California generally resolves losses with more than one contributing cause by looking to the predominant cause that set the loss in motion, a rule covered in efficient proximate cause in California. For a wear and tear denial, that rule raises factual questions: whether the storm, the pressure spike or the impact happened, when it happened, and whether the damage being claimed appeared after it. A letter focused on a component's age often leaves those questions unaddressed.
Policies also commonly treat a failed component and the damage it caused to the rest of the house as separate items. Owners often ask the carrier, in writing, to state its position on each one.
Whatever the claim type, the first step is the same. Send the denial letter, the estimate, or just the story. We read your policy, the insurer's position, and the gap between them, then tell you where you stand. There are no upfront fees, and fees come only out of a recovery.
Get my free claim reviewA wear and tear or pre-existing denial is a position about history, so the most useful evidence is anything that fixes the condition of the home at a known date. Records created before the loss, by someone with no stake in the claim, are generally given more weight than records written afterward.
Owners commonly send the collected records to the carrier with a short written response matched to the specific ground in the letter, and ask the carrier to explain how its conclusion squares with them. The general steps after a home insurance claim denied in California apply here as well, including keeping track of the policy's time limits while the dispute continues.
With a wear and tear or pre-existing denial, CaliClaims Law starts by identifying which argument the carrier is making, then reads it against the full policy, the carrier's inspection materials and the owner's dated records. The firm's clients are property owners with Southern California claims, and it does not take insurance companies as clients.
The review looks for the gap between the label in the letter and the evidence behind it: an underwriting inspection that recorded no damage, a deterioration finding with no stated date, a seepage conclusion with no testing behind it. Where the denial holds up, the firm says so.
Past results do not guarantee a similar outcome. Every claim is different.
It usually means the carrier believes the damage existed before the policy began. Some letters treat that as a question about the coverage period, and others place it under the deterioration exclusions. Whether the letter names a date, a prior owner or a specific exclusion usually shows which approach the carrier is taking.
Not necessarily. For gradual damage, California generally looks to when the damage became appreciable or apparent rather than when it began. Damage that was hidden at the purchase and first became apparent during your policy is generally analyzed differently from damage that was visible or disclosed at the sale. The purchase inspection report and the seller's disclosures are the documents that usually show which situation applies.
California generally divides the proof. The policyholder shows the claim falls within the basic scope of coverage, and the insurer bears the burden of proving that an exclusion such as wear and tear applies. What the policyholder's showing involves generally depends on whether the coverage is open-peril or named-peril, and on how the letter frames its position.
Carriers often keep underwriting inspection reports and photographs, and policyholders commonly request them in writing during a dispute. Some files contain a full exterior inspection, others only aerial or street-level images, and either shows the property before the loss.
No. The claim review is free, and it covers the denial letter, the policy and the dated records you have, with a plain read of where the carrier's position is supported and where it is thin. CaliClaims Law reviews property insurance claims for Southern California policyholders at no cost. One call. That's all.